6. Checklist for following your bliss

photo

This post is courtesy of Elegance Magazine‘s September 2015 Issue


So – does happiness really equate to following your bliss?

What does ‘follow your bliss” mean? I’ll start off by sharing what it doesn’t mean.

Our bodies, the most complex of machines, are given to us as a trust. They should not be abused or neglected but maintained in good order and certainly it doesn’t mean that we should indulge in all the different types of sensual pleasures perceived by our five senses like overeating, abusing our body with drugs; medications, addictions with social media and burying ourselves in consumerism. This is something much deeper even if it means having delayed gratification.

Following your bliss is a sacred call to action especially for your soul to pursue what makes it happy! Which means we need to start paying attention to what makes us happy, to the things we do in our lives that make it seem like three minutes has gone by when it’s really been hours. We want to keep doing what we love and love what we do that makes us feel happy, fulfilled and blissful.

Several years ago I learned that my colon was infected with H.Pylori which results my battle for survival preventing colon cancer from evolving. The moment I heard about it, my heart literally jumped out of my chest and I knew I had to give my all in the battle. All in good time, it was a turning point for me to incorporate my early years of extended yoga practices, meditation and in-depth self-inquiry practices to heal myself internally that resulted in my growing interest to use Yoga as a means of lifelong health investment. My friends and family who have witnessed my healing journey, undoubtedly joined me and encouraged me to continue pursuing Yoga further.

While my heart was gunning for it, I could not get my head around how to find the money for the teacher training programme whilst I was still undergoing my undergraduate studies and saving up for my wedding. All told, the total was going to be close to four thousand dollars, something I did not have to invest.

Undeterred, I came to the conclusion, via my heart that I did not need to get my head around anything. If I was meant to have it, then the Universe would take care of the details no matter how daunting the financial cost. In support of my belief, I shared my intention with several of my close friends, family members and my significant other, shared my yoga musings on and off the mat actively on social media and simply trusted the Universe to align everything in support of my goal. Sure enough, things seemed to be vibrating closer to my reach and I found myself in the corner of the yoga studio undergoing my sponsored 200hr yoga teacher training on the last week of Ramadan.

Added to that, I was offered a job promotion as a digital marketing executive once I’ve completed my yoga teacher training. With these events intermitting simultaneously, I was caught in a crossroad choosing between the two things I am deeply passionate about – Yoga and Digital Marketing. While fulfilling a fixated path that will give me financial stability and a path that will bring ample of opportunities for me to help others in their healing journey, the latter seem like a once in a lifetime willy wonka’s golden ticket to lifetime happiness.

It reinforced me that my heart yearned to teach and served the community through Yoga after the completion of my 2 months yoga teacher training. Just as I felt alive and contented in my healing journey, I remembered how fulfilling it was to have taught my friends and families several years ago when all I had was my 7 years extended yoga practices and takeaways I learnt in various yoga centres.

Since that experience, I have utilised a check list to acknowledge when anything that comes with ease, it is His way. If it does not, it is not His way, and where there is passion, there’s always ease because it’s always in line with His will. Undoubtedly, following my bliss does equate to happiness and good health even though the body get exhausted from shuffling from meetings to teaching yoga classes and workshops. Sometimes it is when we have the courage to follow our inner prompts and go after what we are most passionate about, the Universe often finds creative ways to support our every need.

11990651_1656895554556836_541969133583512027_n

As we embrace the wisdom of our heart, intuitions and trust in Him after making our decision, here’s a simple checklist you can use to act fast on following your bliss:

1. Seek knowledge and wisdom

Of all knowledge the wise and good seek mostly to know themselves and in this pursuit, there’s nothing far better than to be attuned to understanding what tickles your soul! Have the courage to invest in yourself! Feed yourself with plenty of knowledge and experience that will guide you to reach further in your pursuits. It can be as learning to network, writing a blog, or immersing yourself in self development books and allow experience to be your teacher as you become better version of yourselves every day to reach further in your goals.

2. Listen

The Universe is giving you answers to your needs every day, learn to listen and trust the silence during your intimate spiritual conversations with Him. Take note when your heart rises with joy and excitement in response to a path, action, new ideas or opportunity regardless of how daunting the uncertainties will be. Trust what you’re hearing in your inner self first.

3. Act

Live more from intention and less from habit, and you’ll see that more good things will vibrate within your reach when you act greatly as you have been thought. Keep manifesting your bliss and invest your energy in it. Energy flows where your intention goes.

4. Share

Open your heart to the Universe, ask for support and input from those who you trust and love. Don’t be afraid to express your wildest, most extravagant dreams to the Universe. My biggest principle in life to stay happy is to always ask, inspired by Oprah winfreys advice “You get in life what you asked for”. When we ask, we are incorporating listen, act and share elements in manifesting our dreams to the flow of the Universe, to lead a highly functional and purposeful life.

Embrace the process of living intently and watch how you are proactively stating,

  • I trust my heart by acknowledging and acting on my intuitive wisdom.
  • I love and honor who I am.
  • I respect and stand behind what I have to offer the world.

to a path that will open more doors for you where there only walls before.

In contrast, when we do not listen, act, and share, we are made aware of it in several ways.

First: We feel depressed, intuitively recognising that we have missed an important message meant to open us to new and expanded possibilities.

Second: We feel sluggish, “stuck,” and unable to see clearly despite an ocean of new perspectives. It’s as if our eyes have clouded over and we are trying to look through thick, dirty glass.

Third: We contract, we become self-sufficient, self-absorbed and selfish to the ones we love unintentionally which leads us to feel alienated from the ones we love, as well as from the world at large.

5. Give

Life is full of give and take, give thanks every single day and never take nothing for granted. You can interrupt anxiety with gratitude whenever life throws you uncertainties as you dive into your pursuits. Understand this and apply it; gratitude is a powerful process of shifting your energy and bringing more of what you want into your life. Whenever you find yourself in a crossroad or phase towards your pursuit, remember to be grateful for what you already have and it will attract more good things within your reach. Have patience while you’re at it because sometimes those good things comes in a form of delayed gratification but it does make you feel good when you radiate positivity and love.

Enjoy the process at all cost because at the moment of letting go, we instantly arrive at a place of trust where we wake up to the truth that the Universe is, by its very nature, abundant and willing to take care of us, if we let it.

While following your bliss is surely your ticket to happiness, this journey of having happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed regardless of your financial stability. Bliss is always with us, ready to bubble up and overflow at any moment. All you have to do is take a chance! Be inspired by your inner prompts and let it be your guiding light towards a lengthy youthful life :).

Come hang out with me on my weekly yoga musings at Instagram and Facebook and give them a follow if you’d like to join me in my weekly #yogaforwomen classes!

blog signaturev1

Leave a Reply

